Delay marriage until I finish my studies

The second question of Fatwa no. 21359

Q 2: I want to delay marriage until I finish my studies as I am now in the last year of high school. I heard that it is Makruh (reprehensible) to delay marriage. I can not afford marriage at the proper age. I know a teacher who can afford marriage but he rejects it. What is your opinion? Please answer me, my brothers in Islam, as I am confused. Best regards!

A: it is the Sunnah for youth to hasten to get married early if they can afford it. The Prophet (peace be upon him) said, ‘O young people! Whoever among you can afford to get married, let him do so, for marriage would help lower his gaze and keep virtuousness, and whoever cannot afford it, let him fast, for that will be a shield for him. Agreed upon by Imams Al-Bukhari and Muslim.May Allah grant us success! May peace and blessings of Allah be upon our Prophet Muhammad, his family and Companions!

Permanent Committee for Scholarly Research and Ifta’

Member Member Member The Chairman
Bakr Abu Zayd Salih Al-Fawzan `Abdullah ibn Ghudayyan `Abdul-`Aziz ibn `Abdullah Al Al-Shaykh
